English: GPS navigation solution running on a ...

Image via Wikipedia

Image representing Xbox as depicted in CrunchBase
Image via CrunchBase
Image representing iPhone as depicted in Crunc...
Image via CrunchBase

As promised I am back. This feels great writing two blog posts in one month. What I would like to discuss to close out the end of January 2012 is to upgrade or not. In this fast paced technological and scientific world, we have to be ready for anything. Technology is so cutting edge that before you can master one part, a new more improved version becomes available. So how do you know when it is time for an upgrade?

For some, knowing when to make an upgrade on the latest techno savvy gadget is when it is first advertised to the public. Many of us stand on long lines or camp out over night to be one of the first to buy the latest iPhone, Xbox 360, or other cool gadget before quantities run out. It never ceases to amaze me that in a country where so many people have lost homes and jobs yet people still manage to have the latest and greatest phones and technology. I did not understand this until I decided to downgrade my cell phone to save money. I took a plan that did not have a GPS. To make a long story short, one day I was driving and found myself in unfamiliar territory. I asked several people for directions to no avail. The last person I asked said “you don’t have GPS?” Needless to say I was very embarrassed. How could I have a car and a phone that does not have a GPS system…that is simply unheard of in the 21st Century.  

I thought I was doing a noble thing by prioritizing my financial obligations yet, I was losing out by not having a simple device in my car or application on my phone to aid me in the event I got lost.  Knowing when to upgrade should not be based solely on your current financial situation. An upgrade that serves your lifestyle and supports your needs should be apart of your decision-making process. So, until next time…

PEACE & LOVE

MONICA RENEE

Leave a Reply

